Badger Athletics - Spring Hill College News
Freshman Jamie Townley earned 2nd team All-ICAA status
Freshman Jamie Townley earned 2nd team All-ICAA status
Women's Soccer - Fri, Nov. 15, 2013

TIFFIN, Ohio - The Spring Hill College women's soccer teams placed seven members on the 2013 All-Independents Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) Women's Soccer Team at the NCAA Division II level. Three Badgers were named to the 1st team and four SHC players appeared on the 2nd team roster.

Sophomore forward Courtney Harlan from McGill-Toolen Catholic High School in Mobile earned 1st team recognition in a season in which she scored 12 goals and 11 assists for 35 total points. In her two seasons with the Badgers, Harlan has now scored 24 goals with 19 assists for 67 total points in 36 matches.

Freshman forward Darby Rasch of Madison, Ala., was also on the 1st team with 12 goals and six assists for 30 total points in her first collegiate season.

Junior defender Haley Funderburg of Pell City, Ala., was a 1st team selection with a goal and four assists in a season in which the SHC defense recorded eight shutouts. In her three seasons on Spring Hill, Funderburg has appeared in 52 matches.

Sophomore midfielder Sidi Genus of Great Bay, Jamaica, made the 2nd team with eight goals and four assists for 20 points while freshman forward Jamie Townley of Pace, Fla., joined her on the 2nd team with 13 goals, three assists and 29 total points.

Junior midfielder Erin Claxton of Calgary, Alberta, Canada, won a spot on the 2nd team with a year in which she scored four goals with nine assists for 17 points. Rounding out the Badger award winners, freshman defender Kaitlyn Eichorst of Cave Creek, Ariz., appeared on the 2nd team's roster with 19 games started and seven blocked shots.

Since 2004, the ICAA has given recognition to schools of independent status at the NCAA DII level. The membership in women's soccer includes Chowan, Lincoln, Oakland City, Palm Beach Atlantic, Spring Hill, Union and Washington Adventist. The All-ICAA teams are voted upon by the Sports Information Directors of the member schools.