Badger Athletics - Spring Hill College News
Freshman Madison Seuzeneau (15), 2nd team All-ICAA
Freshman Madison Seuzeneau (15), 2nd team All-ICAA
Volleyball - Wed, Nov. 20, 2013

TIFFIN, Ohio – The post-season honors continue to roll in for the Spring Hill College volleyball team with the Badgers earning six awards from the Independents Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) at the NCAA Division II level.

Head coach Dr. Peggy Martin was named a 2013 ICAA Co-Coach of Year following a regular season in which she directed the Badgers to a 35-3 overall record, their third consecutive undefeated conference record at 14-0 and their first Southern States Athletic Conference (SSAC) Tournament championship.

Outside hitter Molly Griffin of Westlake Village, Calif., earned Co-Freshmen of the Year honors and a spot on the All-ICAA 2nd team with a debut season that saw her collect 282 kills and 48 total blocks in 119 sets.

Senior middle hitter Sha Sha Buchanan of McGill-Toolen Catholic High School in Mobile was named to the All-ICAA 1st team with 378 kills this year and 108 total blocks.

Freshman outside hitter Madison Seuzeneau of Tampa, Fla., earned a spot on the All-ICAA 2nd team with 272 kills in 116 sets with 23 blocks and 54 digs.

Senior setter Taryn Nash of Independence, Mo., earned 2nd team recognition in a year that she collected 1385 assists with 33 aces, 88 kills and 280 digs in 121 sets.

Since 2004, the ICAA has given recognition to schools of independent status at the NCAA DII level. The membership in volleyball includes Bluefield State, Palm Beach Atlantic, Oakland City, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Spring Hill, Union University and Washington Adventist. All post-season volleyball awards are chosen by ICAA Director Mike Bond.

The Badgers (35-3) will next host Xavier University (La.) (26-7) in the Opening Round of the NAIA National Championship Tournament on Saturday at 1 p.m. in the Arthur R. Outlaw Recreation Center.